# **Preface**

This is with a great pleasure that I edit these three volumes 17, 18 and 19 of the International Journal of Computing Anticipatory Systems, partial proceedings of CASYS'05, the Seventh International Conference CASYS'05 on Computing Anticipatory Systems, Liège, Belgium, August 8-13, 2005.

This conference was organised, as the preceding ones, by our non-profit association (ASBL) CHAOS, Centre for Hyperincursion and Anticipation in Ordered Systems, Institute of Mathematics of the University of Liège. ASBL CHAOS is member of the IFSR, International Federation for Systems Research (Austria).

The Professor Dr Mitchell Jay Feigenbaum received, during the CASYS'05 conference, the CHAOS AWARD, with a Crystal Eagle Owl of Val Saint-Lambert, for his outstanding scientific works on "Universal Constants in Chaos".

For this CASYS'05 conference, 307 authors and co-authors, coming from 43 countries, submitted 174 papers. The invited and accepted papers were presented in 10 symposia, held in 4 parallel session rooms at HEC Management School – University of Liege. All these authors are thanked for their collaboration to the success of this conference and for their high level scientific contributions.

These CASYS volumes deal with 80 invited and accepted papers, organized as follows:

#### Volume 17:

- Physical Systems, Quantum Mechanics and Relativity
- Mathematical Modelling, Dynamical Systems and Control
- Systems Science, Anticipation, Incursion and Hyperincursion Volume 18:

### Volume 18:

- Computing Systems, Simulation and Information Networks
- Soft Computing, Fuzzy Systems and Neural Networks
- Cognition, Psychology, Disease and Medical Systems

### Volume 19:

- Operations Research and Risk Management Models
- Engineering Systems, Optimization and Simulation
- Vigier Session, organized by Richard Amoroso (USA)
- 5th BCSCMsG International Symposium, organised by Peter Marcer (France)

The American Institute of Physics published the other 56 selected papers in Computing Anticipatory Systems, edited by D. M. Dubois, AIP Conference Proceedings # 839, 2006.

The members of the International Program and Scientific Committees are thanked for their collaboration and their role as referees in the review process of all the papers:

## **International Program Committee**

Jair Minoro Abe (Brazil), Richard L. Amoroso (USA), Nikitas Assimakopoulos (Greece), Marcel Ausloos (Belgium), Jean-Paul Broonen (Belgium), Jerry Chandler (USA), Jingde Cheng (Japan), Ron Cottam (Belgium), Tsutomu Da-te (Japan), Fabio Romeu de Carvalho (Brazil), Yagmur Denizhan (Turkey), Daniel M. Dubois (Belgium), Bertil Ekdahl (Sweden), Yasushi Endow (Japan), Louis Esch (Belgium), George L. Farre (USA), Jean Godart (Belgium), Thierry Grisar (Belgium), Stig C. Holmberg (Sweden), Konstantinos Karamanos (Belgium), Loet Leydesdorff (The Netherlands), Peter J. Marcer (France), Koichiro Matsuno (Japan), Ion I. Mirità (Romania), Nicholas A. Nechval (Latvia), Erik Noldus (Belgium), Jean Ramaekers (Belgium), Robert Vallée (France), Gertrudis Van de Vijver (Belgium), Gerhard-Wilhelm Weber (Turkey).

### **International Scientific Committee**

Adel F. Antippa (Canada), Ioannis Antoniou (Greece), Viveca Asproth (Sweden), Péter B. Béda (Hungary), Mark Burke (Ireland), Zdzislaw Bubnicki (Poland), John Collier (South Africa), John G. Cramer (USA), Daniel M. Dubois (Belgium), Andrée C. Ehresmann (France), Rodolfo Faglia (Italy), Jean-Paul Frachet (France), Walter Freeman (USA), Yukio-Pegio Gunji (Japan), Anita Hakansson (Sweden), Mikulás Huba (Slovakia), Pere Julià (Spain), Eugenia Kalisz (Romania), Louis H. Kauffman (USA), Etienne E. Kerre (Belgium), Eugène Kindler (Czech Republic), Dobilas Kirvelis (Lithuania), George J. Klir (USA), Kljajic Miroljub (Slovenia), Vadim F. Krotov (Russia), Felipe Lara-Rosano (Mexico), Vladimir Levchenko (Russia Federation), Michele Malatesta (Italy), Gianfranco Minati (Italy), Edgar D. Mitchell (USA), Laurent Nottale (France), Eufrosina Otlacan (Romania), Stefan Pickl (Germany), Karl Pribram (USA), Otto E. Rössler (Germany), Peter Rowlands (United-Kingdom), Alfonso Rueda (USA), Salvatore Santoli (Italy), Walter Schempp (Germany), Eric Schwarz (Switzerland), José Luis Simões da Fonseca (Portugal), Pawel Siwak (Poland), Martin C. B. Smith (United Kingdom), Alexander A. Sytnik (Russia), Edwina Taborsky (Canada), Ernst von Glasersfeld (USA), Karl-Erich Wolff (Germany), Lotfi A. Zadeh (USA).

It was with a deep emotion that we learned that Professor Zdzislaw Bubnicki, Member of the International Scientific Committee, passed away on 12 March 2006.



© Daniel M. Dubois, 2005

Professor Zdzislaw Bubnicki at CASYS'05

He was a truly great scientist and a very good friend. His presence among us was very inspiring and will leave us with an unforgettable memory.

Daniel M. Dubois, Director of asbl CHAOS, President of CASYS.